Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

About once a week I have some veggies left over from the week. I always make a soup combining most of what is left. I hate wasting food!

I always put in some sort of protein, base, veggie and seasoning. Last night I had chicken, black beans, chili beans, carrots, sweet potato, onion and corn. I combined them all and it tasted wonderful!

First I chopped up the 4 carrots, 1 sweet potato (peeled) and 1 onion. Added it all to a big pot with 2 cups chicken or veggie stock and let it boil for about 5 minutes.

 

soup3 copy

 

Next I added the can of black beans (rinsed and drained) and the can of chili beans (rinsed and drained) as well as the pre-cooked chicken, about 2 chicken breast.

At the beginning of each week I cook chicken in the crockpot and then use it throughout the week in soups, salads and whatever else I can think of. For busy mom’s this is a life saver!

soup copy

 

I let this boil for about 3-5 minutes. I then add a cup of frozen corn and seasoning. Last night I used 1/4tsp salt, 1/4tsp pepper, 1/4tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp cumin. Let this cook for about 2 minutes and it is ready to eat!

I topped it with an avocado and baked wheat tortilla’s. Cilantro would also be great (but when is cilantro not great?)

In my post I stole this I tell you how I cook the whole wheat tortilla’s.

soup2 copy

 

My husband and I love this, but so do my kids. Anything I don’t have to force feed them through tears of frustration is a winner in my book!

Hope you like it!!