Tags

, , , , ,

On Monday’s I participate in Meatless Mondays. I do this for a few reasons.

1. Reduce the risk of preventable conditions like caner, cardiovascular disease, diabetes and obesity.

2. To reduce my carbon footprint and save resources like fresh water.

3. From documentaries I’ve seen (Vegucated, Forksoverknives, Food matters, Food inc) we have not done a good job on how we treat animals. Their living conditions can be horrible and inhumane!

I am not ready to take the plunge and become a vegetarian or vegan.. maybe someday, but for now my family and I have chosen to take one small step and chose to make Mondays meat free!

Today I will eat:

07:30am – whole wheat tortilla, egg, egg white, pico de gallo

10:00am – protein shake with almond milk

12:00pm – quinoa burger with green beans

02:30pm – hard boiled egg and kale chips

05:30pm – black bean tacos with guacamole-pea (check out “I stole this” blog post for this recipe)

07:30pm – I am planning on making popcorn tonight for the family. Using coconut oil to pop the popcorn and then melt vegan butter on top.

I know I have a long ways to go and a lot of learning to do, but I hope to make a positive impact on my families and my life in regards to health and eating.

