Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have so many friends who are trying to get healthy, loose weight, tone up etc.. It can be so discouraging when you don’t see the results you are looking for. I have a few thoughts on the subject.

I love watching biggest loser! I love seeing the transformation of the people not only physically but emotionally as well. I don’t think anyone gets to be such a large size because they just like food that much (and don’t get me wrong, food is good). I think there is always something more going on in the inside to make people turn to food.

As much as I like watching biggest loser it can give those of us not a a TV show with top trainers and nutritionist unrealistic expectations when it comes to weight loss. We watch these people drop huge numbers week after week and sit at home with our spinach leaves thinking “what am I doing wrong”?

The fact is if you are eating right and working out then chances are you are on the right track. Ask yourself this question.. How long did it take for me to put the weight on? 9 month (post pregnancy body) 9 years? Also, every one is different, a lot depends on your age, metabolism, existing muscle mass and more.

Here are 5 easy tips to help you with weight loss:

1. Write down everything! If you have a smart phone there are plenty of apps that helps you keep track of your calorie intake. (My fitness pal is great)

2. Don’t drink your calories. Water! Water! Water. Make sure you are drinking at least 64ounces of water every day.

3. Eat lots of veggies and lean protein. Chicken, Eggs, Black beans, Fish, Green beans, Kale, Sweet potato are all great options.

4. Skip the eating out. It is ridiculous how many calories the restaurant can pack into a meal. For example: Applebees spinach dip is 1,570 calories (according to My Fitness Pal). That is more than half of the recommend calories for the whole day!

5. Exercise! Even if it starts with you walking 3 times a week and then continue to add more. Always try and do more then you did the day before.

Ultimately is comes down to personal responsibility. You have complete control over what you put into your body and how you choose to live your life.

“In the long run, we shape our lives, and we shape ourselves. The process never ends until we die. And the choices we make are ultimately our own responsibility.”
― Eleanor Roosevelt

