Tags

, , , , , , ,

Every week I and my family participate in meatless mondays. My main reason in doing this is because I am heart broken when I see the way animals can be treated. I mean at least let them live a life full of adventure and running free in the fields before I decide to eat them! And yes, I am totally serious.

I feel sometimes that I was born in the wrong era. When I was little I always wanted to live off the land, ride horses into town and have a handsome husband who chopped down trees for fire wood and built our house with his own two hands. I am drawn to shows like Little House on the Prairie, Downtown Abby, Pride and Prejudice etc. I always wanted to be a wife who helped her husband in the garden, knew how to sew,  was a modest women who people respected, but who could also shoot a gun, hunt her own food, start a fire or live off the land without anyone but herself. I think my ideal role model would be Mother Teresa meets Katniss Everdeen.

All that to say is I don’t think being a vegetarian is right or eating meat is right. You have to decide for yourself. When we do buy meat we try and always buy from our local farmers market or make sure to buy free range, antibiotic free, organic.

Here is the soup I made today. Everyone in my house loved it and it was super easy to make!

Black Bean, Sweet Potato, and Red Quinoa Soup

black-bean-and-sweet-potato-soup-8161_thumb

